2020-2021 FAFSA

On October 1, 2020, the FAFSA 2021-2022 will open (www.fafsa.gov).  The FAFSA is a free federal application for financial aid, college scholarships, and is required for the TN Promise.  Due to the current conditions with Covid-19, we are unable to hold our annual FAFSA Frenzy where we would normally assist families in completing their FAFSA.  This year, TSAC (Tennessee Student Assistance Corporation) has scheduled two webinars every week to help with completing the FAFSA 2021-2022.  

 

Every Monday in October (and also on 10/6, 10/7, 10/8) at 6:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. ET, TSAC will present FAFSA Line-by-Line which will take a student/parent through the FAFSA from start through submission.  Every Friday beginning October 9 (and also on 10/7) at 11:30 a.m. CT/12:30 p.m. ET, they will also present FAFSA FAQ which will provide parents/students a forum to ask questions about the FAFSA.  Families must register (see attached instructions) for either webinar via the following link (https://www.tn.gov/thec/covid-19-campus-information/outreach-virtual-presentations.1.html). 

 

Also, there are some handouts that will assist you in navigating through this process:

Registering for the webinars

Creating a FSA ID

FAFSA Checklist

What is considered an asset for FAFSA

Dependency status

Who is considered parent/guardian

 





Back to School News       Print News Article